Orlando City announces offseason roster decisions ahead of 2022 season


Following a second season of playoff soccer, Orlando City‘s offseason officially began the first Wednesday of December as it announced its offseason roster decisions in preparation for the 2022 season.

The Lions exercised contract options for 11 players, including Daryl Dike, Tesho Akindele, Sebas Mendez and others.

Orlando City also announced they have declined the options on team captain Nani, an announcement that was made earlier in the week.

Joining him in having his option declined are both of the Lions first-round draft picks in Derek Dodson and Rio Hope-Gund. Homegrown players David Loera, Raul Aguilera, and Jordan Bender also had their options declined. There could still be plans for the future for those players, but that will depend on Orlando’s plans for their MLS development league team, which is set to launch next year.

The final declined option fell to Emmanuel Mas, who joined the team this past summer and played 16 matches.

The club also extended new contracts to Alexandre Pato, Uri Rosell, Mauricio Pereyra and Chris Mueller. Despite Mueller already departing for Hibernian FC, extending him an offer allows Orlando to maintain a Right of First Refusal. The Lions are currently in discussions with the other three players regarding new contracts.

Here’s the complete breakdown:

2022 Option Exercised 

Mason Stajduhar
Adam Grinwis
Rodrigo Schlegel
Joao Moutinho
Sebastian Mendez
Joey DeZart
Andres Perea
Tesho Akindele
Benji Michel
Daryl Dike

2022 Option Declined 

Derek Dodson
David Loera
Raul Aguilera
Jordan Bender
Emmanuel Mas
Rio Hope-Gund

Under Contract for 2022

Pedro Gallese
Michael Halliday
Alexander Alvarado
Silvester van der Water
Wilfredo Rivera
Antonio Carlos
Robin Jansson
Junior Urso
Kyle Smith
Thomas Williams

Out of Contract 

Alexandre Pato — Offer extended
Mauricio Pereyra — Offer extended
Uri Rosell — Offer extended
Chris Mueller — Offer extended, transferring to Hibernian FC in Scotland

Current Orlando City roster (as of Dec. 1, 2021)

Goalkeeper (3): Pedro Gallese, Mason Stajduhar (HG), Adam Grinwis

Defenders (8): Kyle Smith, Ruan, João Moutinho, Robin Jansson, Rodrigo Schlegel, Antonio Carlos, Michael Halliday (HG), Thomas Williams (HG)

Midfielders (5): Sebastián Méndez, Andrés Perea, Wilfredo Rivera, Júnior Urso, Joey DeZart

Forwards (5): Tesho Akindele, Benji Michel (HG), Daryl Dike, Alexander Alvarado, Silvester van der Water 

On Loan: Matheus Aias (Real Oviedo)


DP – Designated Player 
HG – Homegrown Player

For more soccer news, follow the Soccer Journal on Twitter: @OSJSoccer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s